Marc Huber
Manager Customer Experience & E-Commerce
Marc Huber
years in business

185

years in business
Brands

900+

Brands
Product variants

2 Mio.

Product variants

FROM TRADITIONAL RETAIL TRADE TO INNOVATIVE E-COMMERCE PLAYER

These are exciting times for Jelmoli. Jelmoli is currently investing heavily in new and innovative technologies and will continue to do so in the coming years. "Our goal is to offer our customers an unforgettable shopping experience that combines the offline and online worlds," says Marc Huber, Head of Customer Experience & E-Commerce and member of the Jelmoli management team.

Jelmoli announced the opening of three new stores at Zurich Airport. "We are particularly excited about the opening of the digital Jelmoli Concept Store in spring 2020! "We want to bring the same first-class shopping experience we offer in our department store online". Their plan is to create a walk-in store with only 200 square meters, which will offer an almost complete range of Jelmoli's flagship store in Zurich. "It will be unique in Switzerland. Our customers will be able to order products in a modern and stylish online shop. Some products will even be delivered immediately within 30 minutes to collection zones within the airport", explains Huber.

Today, quality products and brands are not enough for customers to visit a department store. It is the best shopping experience that makes the difference, one of Jelmoli's key strengths.

HOW ONEDOT HELPED

"We wanted to extend the current product data model (PDM) to expand our online product range, display rich product information and enable smooth product search. This can be a difficult task, especially when you have a product range as diverse as Jelmoli. This task requires extensive knowledge of data modeling and industry expertise. This is exactly why we turned to Onedot," explains Huber.

Jelmolis new PDM will be the backbone of the product data management and online shopping experience. It provides clear guidelines for product description and opens the door for automating key data management processes such as the integration of new brands and products.

"If you have a store with more than 2,000,000 product variations and you want all of them to be available online, you must provide powerful search and filtering mechanisms so that customers can find the products they are looking for within seconds Protocol".

An essential part of building the product data model is to identify the attributes that best describe the products. It is not enough for sportswear to have only material, colour and size. Customers want to know what kind of collar an outdoor jacket has, or whether trail running trousers have side pockets and reflectors.

When designing a PDM, the key question is always how granular you want to describe the products. The finer the user experience, the better. With finer granularity, the effort to collect all product information and prepare the product data increases. "Since we are a premium brand, we want to offer our users high-quality product information online," says Huber.

Each attribute has one of three types: Free text, value list and numbers (with or without units). Value lists are particularly suitable for use in search filters in online shops.

Attributes can be either Single-Select or Multi-Select. For example, they can have multiple values for a jacket color or care instructions, but only fit a single value for the jacket. "With the help of Onedot, we have identified extensive value lists for our product attributes. This guarantees our customers consistent and searchable product filters," says Huber.

THE RESULT

The purpose of a PDM is to describe products in such a way that customers receive as much relevant information as necessary, get them excited about a product and thus make the decision to buy. The more accurate the information, the easier it is for buyers to find what they are looking for. The result is a measurable increase in the conversion rate and more revenue. Jelmoli is able to improve its offline and online presence thanks to a rich PDM.

"Jelmoli offers a wide range of products And we are constantly expanding the range to offer our customers more variety. We need to think about how we can further simplify our product data management and automate as much as possible. Onedot is definitely a strategic partner to achieve this goal," says Marc Huber.

With the help of Onedot, we have identified extensive value lists for our product attributes. This guarantees our customers consistent and searchable product filters.
Marc Huber
Marc Huber
Manager Customer Experience & E-Commerce
Marc Huber
Manager Customer Experience & E-Commerce
Marc Huber
The House of Brands

See for yourself.

Through Onedot we can ensure efficient supplier onboarding and accelerate the expansion of our marketplace. In doing so, we achieve a new level of digitalization in internal processes.

Read the
success story.

With the new product data model, we can differentiate ourselves from competitors. As a result, we are increasing our sales and guaranteeing further growth. The professionalized structure is precisely tailored to our requirements and enables us to react agilely to changing market conditions.

Read the
success story.

Onedot identified, classified and grouped the new products for the PIM import and webshop quickly and efficiently. Manual work was effectively reduced, costs minimized and market expansion accelerated.

Read the
success story.
Experience Onedot with your own eyes.
See for yourself how much high quality product data can bring to your business. Free of charge and without obligation.
Schedule a demo

Marc Huber
Leiter Customer Experience & E-Commerce
Marc Huber
Jahre im Geschäft

185

Jahre im Geschäft
Marken

900+

Marken
Produktvarianten

2 Mio.

Produktvarianten

VON TRADITIONELLEM EINZELHANDEL ZUM INNOVATIVEN E-COMMERCE-PLAYER

Dies sind aufregende Zeiten für Jelmoli. Jelmoli investiert aktuell und in den kommenden Jahren stark in neue und innovative Technologien. “Unser Ziel ist es, unseren Kunden ein unvergessliches Einkaufserlebnis zu bieten, das die Offline- mit der Online-Welt verbindet”, sagt Marc Huber, Leiter Customer Experience & E-Commerce und Mitglied des Management Teams von Jelmoli.

Jelmoli kündigte die Eröffnung von drei neuen Geschäften am Züricher Flughafen an. “Wir freuen uns besonders über die Eröffnung des digitalen Jelmoli Concept Stores im Frühjahr 2020!”, sagt Huber. “Wir wollen die gleiche erstklassige Einkaufserfahrung, die wir in unserem Kaufhaus anbieten, online bringen.” Ihr Plan ist es, einen begehbaren Laden mit nur 200 Quadratmetern zu schaffen, der eine fast vollständige Palette von Jelmolis Flagship Store in Zürich bieten wird. “Es wird in der Schweiz einzigartig sein. Unsere Kunden können Produkte in einem modernen und stilvollen Online-Shop bestellen. Einige Produkte werden sogar innerhalb von 30 Minuten sofort an Abholzonen innerhalb des Flughafens ausgeliefert “, erklärt Huber.

Heute sind Qualitätsprodukte und Marken nicht genug für Kunden, um ein Kaufhaus zu besuchen. Es ist das beste Einkaufserlebnis, das den Unterschied macht, eine der wichtigsten Stärken von Jelmoli.

WIE ONEDOT HELFEN KONNTE

“Wir wollten das aktuelle Produktdatenmodell (PDM) ausbauen, um unsere Online-Produktpalette zu erweitern, reichhaltige Produktinformationen anzuzeigen und eine reibungslose Produktsuche zu ermöglichen. Das kann eine schwierige Aufgabe sein, besonders wenn man eine so vielfältige Produktpalette wie Jelmoli hat. Diese Aufgabenlösung erfordert umfangreiche Kenntnisse in der Datenmodellierung und Branchenkenntnisse. Genau deshalb haben wir uns an Onedot gewandt“, erklärt Huber.

Jelmolis neues PDM wird das Rückgrat des Produktdatenmanagements und der Online-Shopping-Erfahrung sein. Es bietet klare Richtlinien für die Beschreibung von Produkten und öffnet die Tür für die Automatisierung von wichtigen Datenverwaltungsprozessen wie beispielsweise das Einbinden neuer Marken und Produkte.

“Wenn Sie einen Store mit mehr als 2.000.000 Produktvarianten haben und alle online verfügbar sein sollen, müssen Sie leistungsstarke Such- und Filtermechanismen anbieten, damit Kunden die gesuchten Produkte innerhalb von Sekunden finden können Protokoll.”

Ein wesentlicher Teil des Aufbaus des Produktdatenmodell besteht darin, die Attribute zu identifizieren, welche die Produkte am besten beschreiben. Es reicht nicht aus, dass Sportbekleidung nur Material, Farbe und Größe aufweist. Die Kunden möchten wissen, welche Art von Kragen eine Outdoor-Jacke hat, oder ob Trailrunning-Hosen mit Seitentaschen und Reflektoren ausgestattet sind.

Beim Design eines PDM ist die Schlüsselfrage immer, wie granular man die Produkte beschreiben möchte. Je feiner die Benutzererfahrung ist, desto besser. Mit einer feineren Granularität steigt der Aufwand, alle Produktinformationen zu sammeln und die Produktdaten aufzubereiten. “Da wir eine Premiummarke sind, wollen wir unseren Nutzern online hochwertige Produktinformationen bieten”, so Huber.

Jedes Attribut hat einen von drei Typen: Freier Text, Werteliste und Zahlen (mit oder ohne Einheiten). Wertelisten eignen sich besonders für die Verwendung in Suchfiltern im Online-Shop.

Attribute können entweder Single-Select oder Multi-Select sein. Zum Beispiel können sie mehrere Werte für eine Jackenfarbe oder Pflegehinweise haben, aber nur einen einzigen Wert für die Jacke passen. “Mit Hilfe von Onedot haben wir für unsere Produktattribute umfangreiche Wertelisten identifiziert. Dies garantiert unseren Kunden konsistente und durchsuchbare Produktfilter.”, sagt Huber.

DAS RESULTAT

Der Zweck eines PDM besteht darin, Produkte so zu beschreiben, dass Kunden so viele relevante Informationen wie nötig erhalten, sie für ein Produkt begeistert werden und somit die Entscheidung für einen Kauf treffen. Je genauer die Informationen sind, desto einfacher ist es für die Käufer, das zu finden, wonach sie suchen. Das Ergebnis ist eine messbare Steigerung der Conversion-Rate und mehr Einnahmen. Jelmoli ist dank eines reichhaltigen PDM in der Lage, seine Offline- und Online-Präsenz zu verbessern.

“Jelmoli bietet eine große Auswahl an Produkten an. Und wir erweitern das Sortiment ständig, um unseren Kunden mehr Vielfalt zu bieten. Wir müssen darüber nachdenken, wie wir unser Produktdatenmanagement noch weiter vereinfachen und so viel wie möglich automatisieren können. Onedot ist definitiv ein strategischer Partner zur Erreichung dieses Ziels“, sagt Marc Huber.

Mit Hilfe von Onedot haben wir für unsere Produktattribute umfangreiche Wertelisten identifiziert. Dies garantiert unseren Kunden konsistente und durchsuchbare Produktfilter.
Marc Huber
Marc Huber
Leiter Customer Experience & E-Commerce
Marc Huber
Leiter Customer Experience & E-Commerce
Marc Huber
The House of Brands

Überzeugen Sie sich selbst.

Über Onedot können wir ein effizientes Lieferanten-Onboarding sicherstellen und den Ausbau unseres Marktplatzes beschleunigen. Dabei erreichen wir ein neues Level der Digitalisierung bei internen Prozessen.

Lesen Sie die
Erfolgsgeschichte.

Onedots KI-Lösung integriert, kategorisiert und reichert die Produktdaten der verschiedenen Lieferanten automatisiert an und übertrifft in der Datenaufbereitung sogar die menschliche Präzision.

Lesen Sie die
Erfolgsgeschichte.

Durch das Onboarding der Herstellerdaten über die Onedot Plattform konnten wir eine hohe Produktdatenqualität für den Webshop erzielen. So können unsere Kunden das umfangreiche Ortho-Walker Portfolio effizient online durchsuchen. Dank Onedot sind wir - und unsere Produktdaten - bereit für den E-Commerce.

Lesen Sie die
Erfolgsgeschichte.
Erleben Sie Onedot mit ihren eigenen Augen.
Sehen Sie selbst, wie viel hochqualitative Produktdaten für ihr Unternehmen bringen. Kostenlos und unverbindlich.
Demo vereinbaren